SHARE   |   Monday, 02 November 2020   |   By Ricardo Kanono
Opposition parties representatives Opposition parties representatives Argus Online
The opposition parties engaged in cooperation Talks being, the Alliance for Progressives (AP), the Botswana Patriotic Front (BPF), and Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC) met today (1st November, 2020) to discuss a number of issues following the first meeting which was held on the 17th October, 2020. The parties agreed on the following;
Opposition Cooperation Forum- that this negotiating body we will be officially known as the Opposition Cooperation Forum.
People’s Court- the People’s Court was postponed as a result of the non-availability of the Lead Counsel due to family bereavement. The meeting resolved that the session be now held on the 21st November. The preparatory committee will be chaired by Major General Pius Mokgware.
Bye elections cooperation – an agreement has been reached on the Bye-elections Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). The signing ceremony shall be held on Wednesday 4th November and the Presidents of the negotiating parties will sign on behalf of their parties.
Joint Caucuses – It was also resolved that all Secretary Generals of the contracting parties will attend the joint parliamentary caucus.
A Day of Mourning – it was decided that our members and all those who believe in Democracy should wear black every Friday until the People’s court is held. The wearing of black on Fridays is meant to symbolize the death of our democracy, following the rigging that took place during the last general elections.
Opposition Cooperation- It was resolved that contracting parties the AP and BPF submit position papers with regards to Cooperation models which will be discussed at next meeting to be held on the 29th November.
Constitutional Review and Electoral Reforms- the forum resolved that Cooperating parties will jointly advocate for Constitutional review and Electoral reforms. The committee that will spearhead this campaign will be led by Dr Phenyo Butale.
Caroline Lesang For BPF
Pius Mokgware For AP
Moeti Mohwasa For UDC