FNB Acacia

Manase, Cene Media select comedy winners

SHARE   |   Thursday, 23 August 2018   |   By Ontametse Sugar
COMEDIAN: Charles Manase COMEDIAN: Charles Manase

Local comedian Charles Manase in partnership with Cene Media, Pitch Marketing and Chrono Experts recently gave awards to winners of the NextFresh Comic search competition.  

The competition aimed at identifying local talent in comedy, and the winner received mentorship offer from Manase and a chance to perform at the stand-up comedy series.


Some finalists won Roku devices that stream content when is connected to the internet.

The winners of the Roku devices were Keaikitse Masole and Tumisang Tirelo.


Bokang Mongatane won the prize for being the funniest as voted by the judges and won P1000. The P3000 prize for the most popular and most voted for video went to Aobona while second most voted video received a prize from Chrono Experts.

With the winner having been identified, Cene Media Marketing Officer Thabang Maranyane said they are very excited about the new promotions for residential customers.


He said the comedians will be on a tour around the country to promote comedy while also taking Cene Media to the people, especially to the places that are outside Gaborone.

“The company will roll out more coverage areas including Francistown in the coming weeks to ensure that customers outside Gaborone can also enjoy fast affordable internet that includes entertainment and streaming services,” he said. He emphasized that they strongly believe that comedy is an integral part of entertainment offering and they want to continue to support Botswana’s entertainment sector.


Manase is very excited about this development, saying their aim is to continue to provide a platform for both new and established comedians to showcase their talent.

Manase is the first comedian from Botswana to be nominated for the Pan African Comedian of the Year Award and is in the top five with Anne Kansiime, Basket Mouth, Salvador and Carl Joshua Ncube. He is the youngest in the list. The awards ceremony will be in Johannesburg on September 8, 2018. 

Related news