PHK appointed the Chancellor of Botswana Open University

SHARE   |   Monday, 22 January 2018   |   By Dr Theophilus Mooko
PHK appointed the Chancellor of Botswana Open University

The President Lieutenant General Dr. Seretse Khama Ian Khama, pursuant to the provision of Section 7 of the Botswana Open University Act, has appointed His Honour Dr Ponatshego H.K. Kedikilwe as the first Chancellor of the Botswana Open University for a period of five (5) years with effect from 20th December 2017. Dr Kedikilwe enrolled at the University of Connecticut, Storrs in the USA in 1965 where he read history, economics and political science.  From 1968 to 1970 he enrolled at Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs of Syracuse University in New York State where he graduated with Masters in Development Economics and Public Administration. He has served in various key Government and parastatal boards and commissions such as the Monetary Preparatory Commission (1974 to 1975) that established the Bank of Batswana, University of Botswana Council as Chairman from 1979 to 1984 and the Presidential Commission on Education in 1992 as Chairman.
Dr Kedikilwe was elected Member of Parliament for Mmadinare from 1984 to 2014.  He was initially appointed Assistant Minister of Finance and Development Planning and then served for ten years as Minister for Presidential Affairs and Public Administration in the Office of the President. 
His other ministerial portfolios included Commerce and Industry, Finance and Development Planning, Education as well as Minerals, Energy and Water Resources. Dr Kedikilwe was appointed Vice President of the Republic of Botswana on August 1, 2012 and served until November 2014. Upon his retirement from government Dr Kedikilwe was appointed the Chairman of the Presidential Task Team which was set up by His Excellency the President to conduct an assessment of the effectiveness of Government’s flagship programmes such as the Poverty Eradication Programme, Youth Development Fund and the Economic Diversification Drive (EDD); and Chairman of the Sefalana Group of companies.

Dr Theophilus Mooko
Permanent Secretary of Tertiary Education, Research, Science and Technology