Ditshupo pockets P80 000

SHARE   |   Monday, 23 May 2016   |   By Othusitse Tlhobogang
2015/16 CHAMPIONS; Orapa United players lifting the Mascom Top 8 cup high during the awards ceremony held on Thursday evening at GICC 2015/16 CHAMPIONS; Orapa United players lifting the Mascom Top 8 cup high during the awards ceremony held on Thursday evening at GICC

Township Rollers skipper, the sensational Maano Ditshupo stole the limelight at the 2015/16 Mascom Top 8 awards on Thursday before the overall winners Orapa United who won big on the night. The glamorous night which was expected to be the shining moment for Orapa United ended up with the Rollers captain celebrating more. Many had expected that Mascom Top 8 Champions Orapa United would sweep the stakes at the awards taling home everything available following their impressive run in the competition. Orapa united surprised many when they won the cup in their maiden appearance in the tournament. However, it was Ditshupo who pulled a surprise to walk away with two awards on the day. He first shared the Yellow boot award with Ronald Chikomo before going on to beat two of Orapa players for the Number 1 player award. Ditshupo who has been instrumental in his team reaching this season’s finals of Top 8 won the Player of the tournament award ahead of Chikomo and teammate Mambo. 

This saw the youthful midfielder walking away P80 000 richer for the two awards he got on the night. From the yellow boot he got P30 000 and P50 000 for the Number 1 award. Some football suppoerters still believe that Chikomo should have won the prestigious award ahead of Ditshupo. However, the awards technical committee found otherwise. Those who are for Chikomo believe that he has worked so hard to see his club win the championship. His hard work has once again seen him receive the Mascom Top 8 medal for the third time.  However, Ditshupo has also been instrumental in all Rollers games. The youngster has led by example as the captain of the team taking things on his shoulders to see his club win. As a midfielder he scored goals to keep Rollers in the championship until the final stage through performances worthy of an award.

When receiving his top award, Ditshupo who could not hold back tears of happiness thanked his teammates for helping him win. He said he could not have done it without them also passing gratitude to Rollers management, the sponsor, supporters and his family for supporting him.  “I would like to thank my family and rollers management for the support they gave me. Particularly I would like to thank Jagdish Shah for standing by us at all times through all the circumstances we went through,” said Ditshupo. Orapa United however still got the chance to celebrate when their shot stopper Mosimanegape Roberts got the Goalkeeper of the Tournament award. He went away with P25 000. The celebrations were not yet over as United’s coach Madinda Ndlovu was given the Coach of the tournament award bagging P25 000 as well. The highlight of the night was when the team was awarded the Mascom Top 8 championship trophy and cheque worth P1.2 Million.

Other Awards:

Referee of the Tournament: Tirelo Mositwane P15 000
Assistant referee of the Tournament: Mogomotsi Morakile P15 000