Special Olympics dominates 2016 BNSC awards

SHARE   |   Tuesday, 28 June 2016   |   By Ontametse Sugar
Ross Tebele Ross Tebele

Botswana Special Olympics team dominated the 36th annual Botswana National Sports Commission (BNSC) awards with them clinching both administration and athlete’s awards. Their biggest award was the inaugural Minister’s award from the Minister of Youth Sport and Culture Thapelo Olopeng. This comes after the team had an incredible season last year by bringing the highest medals that this country has ever got from one team at world stage level. They participated in the Special Olympics in USA where they sent a team of 40 athletes.

President of Special Olympics Ross Tebele also clinched the administrator of the year award – an honour bestowed on an administrator who makes sure that they do all that it takes for the growth of their sports code. When receiving the award Tebele appreciated the recognition because that is clear proof that he is doing something right. “The athletes might be people living with disabilities but they have proven that it does not mean they are incapable,” he said, urging Batswana to continue rallying behind his athletes.

He also thanked the BNSC for always making sure that they become part of international competitions. BNSC chairperson Solly Reikeletseng emphasized that to them sport is a business and they will continue to make sure that their business becomes successful. He said that as the BNSC they see the development of sports as vital in putting the country on the map.  

Other winners of the night were the 400m sprinter Karabo Sibanda who got away with the biggest award of the night being the sportsperson of the year bagging home P70 000 for the award from Debswana. He also won the junior athlete of the year award. Other winners were Naomi Ruele for junior female athlete, 400m by 400m men’s relay team for best team, cricket won code of the year, Mpho Bakwadi umpire/referee of the year and Mogomotsi Otsetswe best coach award.