Botswana to host Africa Women’s Sevens tournament

SHARE   |   Monday, 28 May 2018   |   By Ricardo Kanono

Botswana will host the 2018 Africa Women’s Sevens tournament over two days starting on Saturday.

Ten national teams will be competing for the title of African Champions and to qualify for the next Olympic Games.


The teams are Zambia, Kenya, Mauritius, Madagascar, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, Zimbabwe, Uganda and hosts Botswana.

Dave Gilbert, president of the Botswana Rugby Federation, is delighted to host the event: "It is wonderful for Botswana Rugby to showcase women's rugby and be part of the future pathway for these female athletes. 


"The Botswana Rugby Union and the Botswana National Sports Commission are very excited to be organizing and hosting this event which is the first of its kind in rugby in Africa ".

A team of female referees will work the matches. Two South Africans, Ashleigh Murray and Lusanda Mtiya, Saudah Adiru from Uganda, Precious Pazani from Zimbabwe, and Aina Razafimamonjy from Madagascar will handle the matches.


The pools are:


Pool 1: Kenya, Madagascar and Senegal
Pool 2: Tunisia, Uganda and Zimbabwe
Pool 3: Morocco, Botswana, Mauritius and Zambia

Related news